skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology


Sensor Calibration Fingerprinting Attack for Smartphones

20 May 2019

When you visit a website, your web browser provides a range of information to the website, including the name and version of your browser, screen size, fonts installed, and so on. Ostensibly, this information allows the website to provide a great user experience. Unfortunately this same information can also be used to...

Read more

Emily Shuckburgh

Dr Emily Shuckburgh appointed as Reader in Environmental Data Science

17 May 2019

We're delighted to welcome Dr Emily Shuckburgh OBE to the Department as Reader in Environmental Data Science, from 1st May 2019. Emily has worked as a climate scientist for the British Antarctic Survey for more than a decade, where she led on polar oceanography research and conducted research expeditions in the Arctic and...

Read more

70 years since the first computer designed for practical everyday use

3 May 2019

EDSAC ran its first successful program on 6th May 1949, making it the world's first fully functional stored-program computer. One of the world’s earliest computers was born 70 years ago at the Computer Lab. The EDSAC – Electronic Delay Storage Automatic Computer – was developed at the University of Cambridge after the...

Read more

Andrew Pitts is joint winner of the 2019 Alonzo Church Award

18 April 2019

Andrew Pitts and Jamie Gabbay (Heriot-Watt) have been selected for the 2019 Alonzo Church Award for their work on nominal techniques, begun when Jamie was a PhD student with Andrew in the Computer Laboratory in the late 1990s. The Alonzo Church Award is for outstanding contributions to Logic and Computation. It was...

Read more

Marcelo Fiore and Andrew Pitts win 2019 LICS Test-of-Time awards

17 April 2019

The ACM/IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science (LICS) annual Test-of-Time Award recognises a small number of papers from the LICS proceedings from 20 years prior. Two awards have been made in 2019 to honour outstanding papers from the IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science 1999 held in Trento, Italy. A New...

Read more

CheriABI wins best paper award at ASPLOS conference

16 April 2019

The CHERI Instruction-Set Architecture (ISA) is a novel computer processor architecture intended to support more secure computer system designs. It has been developed by a multi-disciplinary team spanning the University of Cambridge and SRI International over the last decade. The team are presenting their paper “CheriABI...

Read more

Cambridge Ring Awards

5 April 2019

Every year the Cambridge Ring celebrates the successes of companies founded by graduates of the Department of Computer Science and Technology. The winners of the 2019 Hall of Fame Awards are: Company of the Year: PolyAI PolyAI aims to revolutionise call centres with its state-of-the-art conversational AI. The founders of...

Read more

NetFPGA project wins SOSR System Award

31 March 2019

San Jose, California, USA, April 3rd, 2019. The NetFPGA project was awarded today the ACM SIGCOMM SOSR System Award. The award recognises the development of a software system that has had a significant impact on SDN research, implementations, and tools. The NetFPGA is an open platform enabling researchers and students to...

Read more

ERC Grant winner

Professor Cecilia Mascolo wins ERC Advanced Grant

29 March 2019

Professor Cecilia Mascolo , Professor of Mobile Systems and Co-Director of the Centre for Mobile, Wearable Systems and Augmented Intelligence , has been awarded an Advanced Grant by the European Research Council. The ERC has awarded €540 million in total to fund researchers working on pioneering projects that aim to solve...

Read more

DeepMind Professorship of Machine Learning

29 March 2019

The Board of Electors to the DeepMind Professorship of Machine Learning invite applications for this Professorship from persons whose work falls within the general field of Machine Learning to take up appointment on 1 October 2019 or as soon as possible thereafter. Candidates will have an outstanding research record of...

Read more