skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology


Nominations for the Wiseman Prizes for 2022/23 are now closed, with awards pending (due approximately by end October 2023). The next round will open in the summer of 2024.

The Wiseman Prize scheme is aimed largely at research staff and research students (but may also include undergraduates) who make a commendable contribution to the work of the Department. The Head of Department will call for nominations from senior administrative staff and University Teaching Officers in the Easter term, and those nominated will receive a formal letter awarding them a "Wiseman Prize". Recipients may wish to mention that they have received this Departmental award on their CVs. The prize can only be awarded to an individual once in any 3-year period; any second or subsequent awards will be based on an assessment of new and distinct contributions.

Although we cannot guarantee funding, those making a commendable contribution worthy of an award will be looked upon favourably when applying for Departmental funds for travel and conferences and for 10th term funding for PhD students.

Examples of the types of activities which will result in a nomination are:

  • Supervision, leadership, mentoring
  • Events, courses, programmes, projects (e.g., seminars, practicals and tutorials, course design, demonstrating)
  • Committees, groups (e.g., women@CL, Research Staff Forum)
  • Outreach (e.g., volunteering)
  • Other (e.g., contributions to social activities, group cohesion, camaraderie, positive environment, collaboration, welfare support to fellow students).

This list is not exhaustive - there are many ways students and staff can contribute. It is not expected that nominees will be contributing in all categories but nominees will be making a sustained or significant contribution to the work of the Department.

The decision to make an award will be at the discretion of a Committee acting on behalf of the Head of Department.

The names of recipients of the Wiseman Prize will be published on this webpage.


2021-22 Prize Winners
  • Lucian Carata
  • Nikhil Churamani
  • Agnieszka Slowik
  • Filip Svoboda
  • Kieron Ivy Turk
  • Huiyuan Xie
  • Mateo Espinosa Zarlenga
2020-21 Prize Winners

The Wiseman Prize scheme did not run for 2020-21.

2019-20 Prize Winners
  • Mahwish Arif
  • Apinan Hasthanasombat
  • Jack Hughes
  • Tobias Kohn
  • Qingbiao Li
  • Shaun Steenkamp
  • James Thorne
2018-19 Prize Winners
  • Andrew Caines
  • Catalina Cangea
  • Matthew Danish
  • Andrej Ivašković
  • Russell Moore
  • Omer Sella
2017-18 Prize Winners
  • Daniel Bates
  • Mario Cekic
  • Krittika D'Silva
  • Matthew Danish
  • Botty Dimanov
  • Martin Kleppman
  • Stephan Kollman
  • Robert Kovacsics
  • Kevin Heffernan
  • Amandla Mabona
  • Chaitanya Mangla
  • Mariana Marasoiu
  • Alessandro Montanari
  • Ewa Muszynska
  • Jean Pichon-Pharabod
  • Olesya Razuvayevskaya
  • Michael Schaarschmidt
  • Daniel Thomas
  • Diana Vasile
  • Alexander Vetterl
  • Mark Wassell
  • Conrad Watt
  • Poonam Yadav
2016-17 Prize Winners
  • Lucian Carata
  • Matthew Daggitt
  • Gyuri Denes
  • Guy Emerson
  • Kevin Hefferman
  • Graeme Jenkinson
  • Alex Kuhnle
  • Marwa Mahmoud
  • Theo Markettos
  • Ewa Muszynska
  • Christian O'Connell
  • Raphael Proust
  • Philip Saville
  • Daniel Thomas
  • Petar Velickovic