skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology

Magnus Myreen has been named the winner of the BCS Distinguished Dissertation competition 2010, for 'Formal verification of machine-code programs'.

Runners-up were Computer Laboratory PhDs Tom Cashman (for 'NURBS-compatible subdivision surfaces'), and Alexey Gotsman (for 'Logics and analyses for concurrent heap-manipulating programs').

The annual award selects the best British PhD/DPhil dissertations in computer science, and the winning dissertation and runners-up are published by BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT.

Needless to say, it is very unusual for one institution to have the three top-placed dissertations so, congratulations to all.

Published by Jan Samols on Tuesday 9th November 2010