skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology


Dr Jennifer Cobbe to give Science Festival talk on Thursday 14th March

11 March 2019

The public sphere in the age of the algorithm Thursday 14 March: 7:30pm – 8:30pm, Mill Lane Lecture Rooms In recent years the internet has become a key battleground for electoral politics. Dr Jennifer Cobbe examines how surveillance capitalism and the increasingly algorithmic nature of online public space allows the public...

Read more

Cambridge students earn silver in national cyber security challenge

11 March 2019

HECC (Higher Education Cyber Challenge) is a cross-university cybersecurity/CTF competition run by the University of Southampton – following in the footsteps of the Inter-ACE challenge launched by the University of Cambridge’s ACE-CSR in 2016 and hosted there for three years. The first edition of HECC was held on Saturday...

Read more

Success for Cambridge in the Atlantic Council’s Cyber 9/12 Strategy Challenge

4 March 2019

The triumphant Cambridge team Gary Dreyer, Ainsley Katz, Jamie MacColl and Tomass Pildegovics won first place in a national cyber competition, the Atlantic Council’s Cyber 9/12 Strategy Challenge. The four Cambridge MPhil students in International Relations and Politics were sponsored by Cambridge’s Academic Centre of...

Read more

Alastair Beresford receives Google Security and Privacy Research award

12 February 2019

Dr Alastair Beresford, Reader in Computer Security, has received a 2018 Google Security and Privacy Research award. Dr Beresford’s research examines the security and privacy of large-scale networked computer systems.

Read more

DeepMind Scholarships

21 December 2018

DeepMind scholarships are now available for support candidates intending to study for the M.Phil in Advanced Computer Science. Eligibility requirements and further details are available. The closing date scholarship applications for October 2019 entry will be 31st March 2019.

Read more

Cambridge team wins the 2018 Northwestern Europe Regional Contest

26 November 2018

Congratulations to Team Treenity, winners of The 2018 Northwestern Europe Regional Contest. NWERC 2018 is an official regional contest in the International Collegiate Programming Contest. It draws students from colleges and universities throughout Belgium, Luxembourg, Great Britain, Ireland, Iceland, Norway, … Continue...

Read more

Dr Amanda Prorok receives Best Paper Award at DARS 2018

22 October 2018

Dr Amanda Prorok has received the Best Paper Award, at DARS 2018: 14th International Symposium on Distributed Autonomous Robotic Systems, for ‘ Redundant Robot Assignment on Graphs with Uncertain Edge Costs ‘. Dr Prorok is a member of the Digital Technology Group.

Read more

Robert Sansom Professorship of Computer Science to be appointed

12 October 2018

The Department of Computer Science and Technology (formerly, the Computer Laboratory) will be appointing a new Robert Sansom Professorship of Computer Science in 2019/20. The Chair will build on the University’s strengths in computer science and will be based in the Department of Computer Science and Technology. The...

Read more

Dr Robert Harle receives ACM Ubicomp 10 Year Impact Award

10 October 2018

Dr Robert Harle has been awarded the ACM Ubicomp 10 Year Impact Award at Ubicomp 2018, for his paper from 2008 entitled ‘Pedestrian localisation for indoor environments’. The paper was joint work with Oliver Woodman.

Read more

Dr Noa Zilberman named in list of 10 Rising Stars in Computer Networking and Communications

2 October 2018

Dr Noa Zilberman, a Leverhulme Early Career Fellow and member of the Networks and Operating Systems Group, has been named in the fourth list of “N2Women: Rising Stars in Computer Networking and Communications”.

Read more