skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology


The Head of Department is Prof. Andrew Beresford. He is the final authority for most internal matters. However, he delegates almost all responsibilities to people in other positions, and you should contact the appropriate person in the first instance.

Your Supervisor is the key person for advising you about your research, and is the person towhom you should go first. Your Second Advisor is also available to discuss your research withyou. Your College Graduate Tutor can often help with matters of a personal or financial nature.

In addition to these, the following people are here to help in the Department of Computer Science and Technology. Add "" after the role addresses and "" after the CRSIDs .

Prof. Alastair Beresford Head of Department GC10 aac10
Mrs Caroline Stewart Departmental Secretary GC07 departmental-secretary
Dr David Greaves Graduate Students' Coordinator FE25 tgg22
Dr Timothy Jones Deputy Head of Department FN08 tmj32
Dr Thomas Sauerwald Deputy Head of Department FC11 tms41
Mrs Carol Nightingale Departmental Secretary (Finance) GE03 cs209
Ms Lise Gough Postgraduate Education Manager FS05 lmg30
Mrs Joy Rook Postgraduate Education Assistant FS03 jlr59
Dr Eva Kalyvianaki Researcher Development Coordinator FN15 acr31
  Building Services Manager GW04
Reception staff Reception Office GC03
  Managers of the e-mail system   postmaster
  Computer problems (Linux, etc.)   sys-admin
  Windows problems   win-admin
  Printer problems   printing
  Graduate Union
  University Counselling Service
  Disability Resource Centre

The Postgraduate Education Team
October 2023

See also