skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology


The Research Staff Forum (formerly known as the Post Doc Forum) is a group that aims to establish a close networking platform between all researchers in the Department. Each research group is represented by a researcher and the Chair is an Observer on the Faculty Board. The Deputy Director for Postgraduate Education (Researcher Development) and the Departmental Secretary are also members of the Forum.

Categories of staff eligible for membership of the Forum are as follows:

  • Research Assistants (including those who are doing a PhD)
  • Research Associates
  • Senior Research Associates
  • Research Software Engineers
  • Fellows

The hope of the forum is to create a platform for collaboration and mutual assistance between researchers. Members of the forum can offer a mentoring service to all new Research Staff working in the Department. To request a mentor, please contact the PA to Head of Department, ( New mentors are also required and so if you are an experienced post doc and would like to become a mentor, please also get in touch with the PA to Head of Department.

Member Role
James Sharkey Chair, Senior Research Software Engineer
Celia Burns Secretary, Faculty Administrator
Maliha Ashraf
Dr Andrew Caines Natural Language and Information Processing Group; Natural Language Processing Theme
Helen Francis Research Strategy Manager
Dr Sadiq Jaffer
Guy Laban Affective Intelligence and Robotics Laboratory (AFAR)
Dr Challenger Mishra Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence Research Group and Theme
Dr Ajay Shankar Digital Technology Group; Mobile Systems, Robotics and Automation Theme
Caroline Stewart Departmental Secretary
Dr Alejandro Sztrajman Graphics & Interaction Group (Rainbow) Group