skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology


(Previously known as the Athena SWAN Panel)

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee (ED&I) meets to guide the Department's application for accreditation under the Athena Swan programme and to consider equality and diversity issues in the Department.

Terms of Reference

The Department aims to be a welcoming and supportive place to study and work for everyone.  The ED&I Committee works to support all students and staff to achieve their full potential and a good study/work-life balance. This is a constant learning process, and we welcome suggestions as to how to improve our learning, teaching, work and social environment.

See the full terms of reference.

Athena Swan

Athena Swan is a Charter to advance women's careers in STEMM subjects (Science, Engineering, Technology, Maths and Medicine). Any university or research institution which is committed to the advancement and promotion of the careers of women in STEMM in higher education and research can apply for membership. The Department is committed to the principles of the Charter and wants to achieve an improved gender balance at all levels of academic and research staff.

Member Role
Dr Robert Watson Chair
Celia Burns Secretary, Faculty Administrator
Alastair Beresford Head of Department
Rachel Gardner Communications Manager
Professor Alice Hutchings Academic Staff
Jessica Man
Aga Niewiadomska Outreach Administrator
Dr Peter Ochieng
James Sharkey
Caroline Stewart Departmental Secretary
Konrad Witaszczyk

Athena Swan Department Application

The Department is proud to announce we were awarded a Bronze Award in October 2015.

Our application is published on the Lab's Athena Swan pages

Our Action Plan can be viewed here......