skip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology


There is a remarkable divide in the field of logic in Computer Science between two distinct strands: one focuses on semantics
and compositionality (“Structure”), the other on expressiveness and complexity (“Power”). These two traditions are studied by
almost disjoint research communities using almost disjoint technical languages and methods.

We believe that bringing these communities and research fields together is an important objective in Computer Science, which may hold the key to fundamental advances in the field. The aim of this workshop is to attract investigators at the boundary of the two strands, and those on either side of the divide interested in establishing new connections.

Previous workshops on this theme were held as affiliated workshops of LiCS 2021ICALP 2022 and LiCS 2023.

This is a LiCS/ICALP/FSCD 2024 affiliated workshop. It will be a hybrid event, however on-site participation is highly encouraged.


Workshop dates: 7th July 2024
Abstract submission deadline: 17th May 2024
Author notification: 1st June 2024
Early-bird registration deadline 17th May 2024
Regular registration deadline: 19th June 2024


  • 29 April 2024: registration information provided
  • 22 March 2024: invited speakers announced
  • 19 March 2024: abstract submission and author notification deadlines added
  • 15 February 2024: webpage created

Invited speakers


Those wishing to give a talk at the workshop are invited to submit an Extended Abstract of up to three pages (including references) describing the key points of the presentation.

Submissions should only have a single author — the speaker. Any co-authors should be clearly credited in the abstract and on the slides.

For submissions please use the following Google form:

We encourage talks at all levels of progress, including novel contributions, already published results, works in progress, as
well as survey-type contributions.

Depending on the number of submissions, contributed talks will be 20-30 minutes long.


There are two types of participation, online and in person.

Organising and Programme Committee

* Samson Abramsky
* Anuj Dawar
* Tomas Jakl
* Dan Marsden
* Yoàv Montacute
* Luca Reggio
* Nihil Shah